Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile Mobile
Page 1 of 2
1 2 >
Tile Forum/Advice Board>Slate on shower walls?
Nivlek 08:41 AM 09-27-2007
Hi - A newbie here with some basic questions re using slate on bathroom & shower walls.

I do not appear to be able to actually post a thread though, as the system keeps disallowing the post because it "appears to have URL's"...which it doesn't

:-)

Kelvin
Brian in San Diego 10:16 AM 09-27-2007
Kelvin,

Do you mean post a link? You have posted a thread...this one. Ask any questions you want right here. I think you have to have at least five posts before you can include a link...it keeps most of the spammers at bay.

Brian
Nivlek 01:38 PM 09-27-2007
Hi Brian,

I'm not actually trying to place a URL, but rather the forum "anti-spam" routine thinks that I am (even though none of my text is URL related...).

Here are the questions!

1. Can I place heavy 3/8" thick slate for shower walls using Kerdi system and regurlar construction? I intend to use 2x4 stud and 1/2 drywall but should I consider cement board to carry the extra weight of an 8' high slate wall?

2. What is the best way to cut detailed openings for receptacles, pipes, lights, etc.? Wet saws can only cut so small -- or should I use drills and sabre saws?

3. How will slate walls stand up over time in shower enclosure? I am assuming that there is some super-sealer out there that can armor plate the stone and make cleaning no more difficult that tratidional tile (hope!). I also read posts from others using limestone in showers where they squeegie after every use -- again I assume that slate does not require this level of maintenace.

Any and all experiences and comments welcom!

Thanks
Kelvin
Davestone 02:24 PM 09-27-2007